the13th POLL

Who wins the Wilder vs Fury Fight?


Cano, Crews-Dezurn, Akkawy, Curiel, and Esparza Win
Pictured: Pablo Cesar Cano

Former WBA Interim World super lightweight champion Pablo Cesar Cano, Franchon Crews-Dezurn, WBA Oceania super middleweight champion Bilal Akkawy, 2016 Olympian Raul Curiel, and Francisco Esparza also won tonight on the card held at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

Cano, 28, of Mexico won a 5-round, unanimous technical decision over previously unbeaten Ruslan Madiev after their scheduled 10-round super lightweight bout was stopped because Cano had been cut badly by an accidental headbutt. Cano won by three 49-46 scores to improve to 31-7-1 with one No Contest and 21 wins by knockout, Madiev, a 25-year-old Kazakhstani wo fights out of Big Bear, California, dropped to 12-1 with 5 wins by KO.

The 31-year-old Ms. Crews-Dezurn of Baltimore, Maryland won the vacant WBC World Female super middleweight title via a 10-round, majority decision over Maricela Cornejo, 31, of Los Angeles. There were two 99-91 scores for Ms. Crews-Dezurn and one score of 95-95. Ms. Crews-Dezurn upped her record to 4-1 with 1 KO while Ms. Cornejo slipped to 12-3 with 5 KOs.

In a non-title eight-rounder, Akkawy (WBA #9, IBF #11, WBC #35; 18-0-1, 14 KOs) unanimously outpointed Cristian Olivas (16-3, 13 KOs) of Mexico by three 80-71 scores. Akkawy, a 25-year-old Australian, and the 26-year-old Olivas, who is now based in San Ysidro, California, were both fighting in the United States for the first time.

Welterweight Raul Curiel, who represented Mexico at the 2016 Summer Olympics, unanimously outpointed Ryan Pino of Puerto Rico by three 60-54 scores. Curiel improved to 5-0 with 3 KOs while Pino slid to 8-3 withh 4 KOs.

Super featherweight Francisco Esparza (9-0-1, 3 KOs) of Las Vegas won by unanimous decision over Mexican journeyman Diuhl Olguin (13-12-3, 9 KOs).
Article By: Ken Pollitt