the13th POLL

Who Wins Zurdo Ramirez VS Bivol?


34 Top 15 Welterweight Contenders
Pictured: Cristian Nestor Romero, the WBO's #15 ranked welterweight contender

The WBC has sanctioned a bout between their #2 contender Danny Garcia and their #6 contender Robert Guerrero for their vacant "World" welterweight title. The result, unless the fight ends in a draw, a No Decision, or a No Contest, will be that boxing will have yet another organizational world title claimant whose claim to championship status is "legitimized" because of the three letters accompanying his "world title." To say the sanctioning bodies have diluted championships is an understatement.

Unfortunately, it goes further than that. Not only have the sanctioning bodies diluted championships, they've cheapened contender status as well. There are 34 top 15 welterweight contenders. "Say what?" you say. Again, the WBC, the WBA, the IBF, and the WBO list a combined 34 top 15 welterweight contenders. That sounds absurd but looks even worse. Let's start with the four fighters the "big 4" alphabet groups rank as number one contenders and go on from there:

1- Amir Khan (WBC) (also 2- WBA, 3- WBO, 4- IBF)
1- David Avanesyan (WBA)
1- Kevin Bizier (IBF)
1- Sadam Ali (WBO) (also 3- IBF, 10- WBA, 15- WBC)
2- Danny Garcia (WBC) (also 3- WBA, 9- IBF)
2- Errol Spence (IBF) (also 9- WBC, 11- WBA, 14- WBO)
2- Manny Pacquiao (WBO)
3- Shawn Porter (WBC) (also 4- WBA, 5- WBO, 11- IBF)
4- Lamont Peterson (WBC) (also 7- IBF)
4- Jessie Vargas (WBO) (also 11- WBC)
5- Andre Berto (WBC)
5- Shane Mosley (WBA)
5- Konstantin Ponomarev (IBF) (also 8- WBC, 9- WBO)
6- Robert Guerrero (WBC) (also 7- WBA)
6- Teerachai Kratingdaenggym (WBA)
6- Rico Muller (IBF)
6- Chris Algieri (WBO)
7- Omar Figueroa (WBC)
7- Jeff Horn (WBO) (also 8- IBF, 12- WBA)
8- *- Marcos Maidana (WBA)
8- Bradley Skeete (WBO)
9- Dmitry Mikhaylenko (WBA) (also 11- WBO, 13- IBF)
10- Ray Robinson (WBC) (also 13- WBO)
10- **- Diego Chaves (IBF)
10- Randall Bailey (WBO)
12- Sammy Vazquez, Jr. (WBC) (also 14- IBF)
12- Fredrick Lawson (IBF)
12- Taras Shelestyuk (WBO)
13- Charles Manyuchi (WBC) (also 15- WBA)
13- Cameron Hammond (WBA)
14- Alfonso Gomez (WBC)
14- Emmanuel De Jesus (WBA)
15- Frankie Gavin (IBF)
15- Cristian Nestor Romero (WBO)

*- has not fought since September 13, 2014
**- has not fought since December 13, 2014

What this means is that according to the four major sanctioning bodies, thirty-four welterweights are qualified to challenge for welterweight world titles. Not ten, not fifteen, but thirty-four!
Article By: Ken Pollitt